7 Comments
author
Sep 7·edited Sep 7Author

As for me, well when I was a teen I had this motto 'Live Laugh Smile Sing Love'. and that is the thought I came back to first. Now I come back KINDNESS most. I love both of these but also have two old quotes I adore which sum up all of this I love writing in cards:

1. “We are not primarily put on this earth to see through one another, but to see one another through. ” - Peter De Vries

2. “To the world you may be one person; but to one person you may be the world.” ― Dr. Seuss

Expand full comment

Thank you for this invitation Ta. I think my philosophy is very similar to yours -- kindness and love.

Curiosity would be another way of being with the world I would add.

Walking through life with an open heart perhaps.

When I was ill I write 'all you need is love' in my diary many times. Maybe it is this also.

Expand full comment
author

Yes Kate, curiosity is a perfect addition. Thanks for sharing this 🫶

Expand full comment

I've had a think about this one overnight and I wasn't sure what to say and I think for me. It is about developing an unshakeable knowing, understanding of yourself, so that no matter what people say or do you remain grounded and rooted in yourself that you never doubt yourself and your capabilities. Once you establish that you can help others along the way too

Expand full comment
author

This is a beautiful answer. I really love that idea of developing an unshakable knowing of self. I’m going to write that one down!

Expand full comment
author

The delightful Annie had technical issues and emailed me this answer to post on her behalf:

I sincerely hope this doesn't disappear into the ether, Ta.

I've sent it to you first, in an effort to keep a copy.

My philosophy of life may be summed up by a verse from the N.T. which states: " Every good and perfect gift comes down from above, from the Father of lights...." I do regard life as a gift; as Julia Child puts it: 'Life itself is the proper binge'.

For me, gratitude is the key to living life to the full, As a teenager I loved gospel music and one phrase which I determined to put into practice, remains valid to this day: "This house runs on sunshine, peace and love".

"Let your life speak" is a quaker phrase which has always made sense to me, even before I discovered Parker J. Palmer's book of the same name. Mary Oliver's poetry has really fed my soul. Her poem which begins, 'My work is loving the world' dovetails with Ignatius of Loyola's Spiritual Exercises. He says we should seek to find God, the Giver of all, in all things.

I try to live by Mary Oliver's life maxim: "Pay attention / Be astonished / Tell about it".

In my seventh decade I am still grateful, still letting my life speak, still paying attention and trying to find God in all things.

Annie B

Expand full comment
author

@Annie B I love ‘life itself is the proper binge’! All wonderful quotes and references, this is a little feast!

Expand full comment